The Ronald Hicks Memorial Award

The Ronald Hicks Memorial Trust Fund was established in 1984 to recognise and commemorate the contribution that Ron Hicks made to water and wastewater management in New Zealand from the mid-1950s until his death in 1983. Ron joined the Auckland Metropolitan Drainage Board from the UK as Chief Chemist at the time when the Manukau Sewerage Purification Works was under development. He became widely respected as an international authority on domestic and industrial wastewater treatment practices, and it was through his efforts from 1957 to 1959 that the NZ Sewage and Industrial Wastes Association, the forerunner of Water New Zealand, was formed. Ron Hicks' legacy is remembered annually through the Ronald Hicks Memorial Award made to the author(s) of an article or paper considered significant in solving or clarifying sewage treatment or water pollution problems in New Zealand.

The Trust Fund is administered by three trustees who together comprise the judging panel for the award. The current trustees are:

Mark Milke, Christchurch (Chairman) David Ray, Hamilton Paul Barter, Nelson

Nomination

Visit <u>www.waternzconference.org.nz</u> for nomination details for the current year's Ronald Hicks Memorial Award.

Prize

This award will be made to the author(s) of an article or paper considered significant in solving or clarifying sewage treatment or water pollution problems in New Zealand. Awards may take the form of cash, books, equipment, etc, as seen appropriate to the Trustees in each case.

Water New Zealand acknowledges the services of the Trustees, namely Chairman Dr Mark Milke, from the Department of Civil and Natural Resources Engineering at the University of Canterbury;David Ray from Environmental Management Services Limited in Hamilton, and Paul Barter from the Cawthron Institute. The Trustees comprise the judging panel.

Past Recipients of the Award:

Year	Recipient	Paper
1985	Robert Wilcock, Scientist of DSIR Water Quality Centre, Hamilton	Describing studies on reaeration in selected New Zealand rivers using methyl chloride as a gas tracer.
1986	Cliff Tipler, Civil Engineer of Steve Fitzmaurice & Partners, Christchurch	The controlled discharge of chemically treated meatworks effluent to the Waimakariri River.
1987	David Adamson, Civil Engineer of Taupo District Council	New technique for sewage treatment, describing the selection, design and commissioning of a sequential batch reactor sewage treatment plant at Acacia Bay on Lake Taupo.
1988	Joint Award	
	John Fitzmaurice of Humphrey Archer and Rob Fullerton of Steven, Fitzmaurice & Partners	Anaerobic contact Wastewater Treatment, Tirua Casein Complex, NZ Co-op Dairy Co.Ltd.

	Martin Ferner, John Harding and Rob Green, Civil Engineers of Levin Borough Council and the others of BCHF Ltd, Wellington	Levin Borough Land Based Effluent Disposal System.
1989	Joint Award	
	Bryce Cooper, Scientist of DSIR Water Quality Centre, Hamilton	Developing management guidelines for river nitrogenous oxygen demand.
	John Quinn and Paul McFarlane, Scientist for work they conducted while at Massey University, resulting in their paper.	Epilithon and dissolved oxygen depletion in the Manawatu River: Simple models and management Implications.
1990	lan Gunn, Public Health Engineer, Auckland University	Evapotranspiration for on-site residential wastewater disposal the New Zealand experience.
1991	Adrian Goldstone and David Peterson of Cyrus Gold (NZ) Ltd & Harrison Grierson Consultants Ltd	Development of treatment and discharge strategies for the Golden Cross Mine.
1992	Graeme Keeley and John Skipper of Canterbury Frozen Meat Co Ltd	The use of aerobic thermophilic composting for the stabilisation of primary meat waste solids.
1993	Joint Award	
	James Cooke of NIWA	Nutrient transformations in a natural wetland receiving effluent and the implications of waste treatment.
	Bryce Cooper of NIWA	Coupling wetland treatment to land treatment: An innovative method for nitrogen stripping.
1994	Ray Hedgland of Fraser, Thomas Ltd	Taumarunui Sewage: A culturally acceptable treatment solution.
1995	No Award	
1996	Paul Bickers (MIRINZ) for his research towards his M Tech	The aerobic treatment of reverse osmosis permeate and its reuse in the dairy industry.
1997	Taupo District Council	For their project which resulted in their sewage effluent no longer being discharged to the Waikato River, but sprayed across pasture which is then cut and sold, bringing in a substantial income. The article that described this process appeared in the September 1996 Journal.
1998	Adrian van Niekerken and Doug Drinkwater of Rangitikei District Council	For the paper they presented at the NZWWA Annual Conference in 1996 titled Managing stressed oxidation pons by remote control.
1999	Humphrey archer and Stuart Donaldson	Low cost upgrading of oxidation ponds for public health protection
2000	Chris Tanner and James Sukias of NIWA, Hamilton and Colin Dall form the Northland Regional Council	Constructed wetlands in New Zealand - Evaluation of an emerging Natural wastewater treatment technology.
2001	Rob Davies-Colley of NIWA; Andrea Donnison of AgResearch and David Speed from the School of Chemistry, Queens University of Belfast, Ireland	Towards a mechanistic understanding of pond disinfection. The paper was presented to the 4 th International Conference on Waste Stabilisation Ponds held in Marrakech, Morocco in 1999.

2002	Paul Barter of the Cawthron Institute	Investigation of pond velocities using dye and small drogues: A case study of the Nelson City waster stabilisation pond.
2003	No Award	
2004	Joint Award	
	David Ray, Editor and fellow co-authors for their authorship of:	New Zealand Municipal Wastewater Monitoring Guidelines. Published by the NZ Water Environment Research Foundation in October 2002
	Andy Shilton and Jill Harrison for their authorship of:	Guidelines for the Hydraulic Design of Waste Stabilistation Ponds. Published by the Institute of Technology and Engineering, Massey University in 2003.
2005	Louis Schipper from the Dept. of Earth Sciences at Waikato University and Stewart Cameron from the Institute of Geological & Nuclear Sciences in Taupo	Denitrification Beds: Final Nitrogen Removal from Wastewater.
2006	John Moore, Cliff Tipler and Graham McBride	Comparing Human Health Risk Outcomes for the proposed Christchurch City Ocean Outfall: A quantitative Approach.
2007	No Award	
2008	Giles Altner	
2009	Megan Devane, Brent Gilpin, Beth Robson, Fariba Nourozi and David Wood	Decision analysis trees for identification of faecal sources in water
2010	Jurgen Thiele of Waste solutions, a division of CPG (NZ) Ltd, Dunedin	Municipal sludge digester upgrade for biofuel production.
2011	Chris Tanner, James Sukias and Charlotte Yates of NIWA Hamilton	Multiyear Nutrient Removal Performance of Three Constructed Wetlands Intercepting Tile Drain Flows from Grazed Pastures and NZ Guidelines: Constructed Wetland Treatment of Tile Drainage
2012	Paul Weber, Mark Pizey, Fiona Crombie, Glenn Rutter, Phil Lindsay, Dave Thomas, Don Elder, Joe Wildy, Tony Cooper and Phil Rossiter of Solid Energy	Addressing the Environmental Effects of Mining on the Ngakawau River
2013	Peter Browne	Overcoming Rotorua Lakes Ecological Challenges
2014	Rob Fullerton	Full Scale Tubular Bioreactor for Hydrogen Sulphide Removal
2015	Rainer Hoffmann, MWH, Stuart Hildreth, Sicon Ferguson and Christopher Salkeld, Sicon Ferguson	New Zealand's First Full-Scale Biosolids Solar Drying Facility