It is our pleasure to nominate Dr Marion Savill for membership of WaterNZ's Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovellers.

Marion is a highly competent environmental scientist who has an emphasis on microbiological contamination of wastewaters, environmental waters and associated public health risk. In 1975 she was awarded BSc (Hons) and in 1982 a PhD, both in biochemistry from the University of Canterbury.

After gaining her PhD she was employed as a scientist in what is now ESR where she established a solid reputation for her technical expertise, with a progressive leaning toward health-related water microbiology. She is the author of many peer-reviewed articles and has co-authored with highly regarded senior scientists across the world.¹

She has won numerous awards, including the

- Fulbright Scholarship, 1991/92 (UC Berkeley),
- ESR Study Award 1996 (UC Berkeley)
- ESR Leadership Excellence Award 1998
- ESR Business Innovation Excellence Award 2004

Notable is her early anticipation—and initiation—of the need for studies on *Campylobacter* contamination and public health risk in New Zealand. In 2010 she left ESR to set up her own company, 'Affordable Water', reflecting her increasing role as a science coordinator and leader.

Throughout her career Marion has maintained involvement in WaterNZ's activities and interests, attending many annual conferences and chairing the conferences' science stream. She is president of the New Zealand chapter of the IWA's Health-Related Water Microbiology (HRWM) group. In that role she gained the hosting of the IWA HRWM Symposium (Rotorua 2011). She has recently succeeded in winning hosting the 2023 IWA conference for the Pacific and South-East Asian regions.

(https://www.waternz.org.nz/Category?Action=View&Category_id=866)

Marion is well-regarded abroad--common for me when in the USA to be asked "How's Marion?"

¹ For example, Toranzos, McFeters, Borrego and Savill (2007) *Detection of Microorganisms in Environmental Freshwaters and Drinking Waters*, In: Manual of Environmental Microbiology, Third Edition. C.J. Hurst Ed. In-Chief. ASM Press.

Nominated by Graham McBride, 27/8/20

Seconded by Dr Jan Gregor, 27/8/20