Engineering Leadership Forum


Who are we:

The Engineering Leadership Forum comprises the Chief Executives of New Zealand’s professional engineering associations including: Engineering NZ, the Association of Consulting  and Engineering New Zealand, Water New Zealand, Civil Contractors New Zealand, the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia (New Zealand Division), the Electricity Engineers’ Association, Concrete NZ, and the Institute of IT Professionals NZ. 

These organisations represent well over 40,000 professionals working in engineering in Aotearoa.

What do we do:

The Engineering Leadership Forum normally meets once every two months. The meeting provides an opportunity for the CEO and senior executives of the member organisations to discuss current issues and where possible to coordinate activities and to assist one another. The Forum has progressively become more engaged in public policy as it affects the engineering community, and now routinely communicates its collective view on initiatives through meetings with officials and the completion of submissions on issue papers and proposed legislation.

Contacting ELF members:

ACE: Helen Davidson, helen.davidson@acenz.org.nz  

Engineering NZ: Richard Templer, Richard.templer@engineeringnz.org  

Electricity Engineers Association: Peter Berry, peter@eea.co.nz  

IPWEA: Murray Pugh, murray.pugh@ipwea.org.nz  

Concrete NZ: Rob Gaimster, rob@concretenz.org.nz

Civil Contractors NZ: Alan Pollard, alan@civilcontractors.co.nz

Royal Society: Professor Geoff Chase, Geoff.chase@canterbury.ac.nz   

IT Professionals: Victoria MacLennan victoriam@itp.nz


List of recent submissions:

Submission to the Ministry of Education on Tomorrow’s Schools, 7 April 2019

Submission to the Ministry of Education on the Reform of Vocational Education, 5 April 2019

Submission on the Productivity Commission’s Issues Report on Local Government Funding and Financing, Engineering Leadership Forum, 15 February 2019

Submission on the draft ‘National Disaster Resilience Strategy’, Engineering Leadership Forum, 5 December 2018

Submission on the creation of a new infrastructure body (IBody), Engineering Leadership Forum, 26 October 2018

Submission on the Zero Carbon Bill, Engineering Leadership Forum, 19 July 2018

Submission to Productivity Commission’s Draft Report ‘Low-emissions economy‘, 8 June 2018

Ministerial Review - Better Responses to Natural Disasters and Other Emergencies in New Zealand, Submission by the Engineering Leadership Forum, 7 July 2017