Past Winners



Kawerau District Council Water Team   

For the resourceful solutions-orientated focus to improve their processes and operational outcomes during the covid-19 pandemic.



2019Marcus Coley, Downer & Leevaai Toremana, Horowhenua District Council
2018Sharon Danks and the Triangle Road Pumpstation Commissioning Team, Watercare Services
2016Matthew Keil, Southland District Council
2015Alistair Forsyth, Wellington Water
2014Marcus Coley, Downer
2013Russell Dean, Manawatu District Council
2012Mathew Jamieson, Veolia Water, Thames Coromandal
2011Ian Loffhagen, Waimakariri District Council
2010John Clemens, Water Plant Manager at Timaru District Council
2009Gore District Council Team: John Braithwaite and Neville Phillips
2008The Downer Works Team: Terry Lamb, Louis Du Preez, Josy Bird, Scott Collinge, Sinclair Carter and Gordon McRobbie
2007The Gisborne Water Treatment Team: Pete McKay, Ged Brown, Ralph Ogden, Josh Takao and Lynnette Brown
2006No Award
2005Les Collins and Dave Neru for their assistance in restoring services to communities devastated by the 2004 Boxing Day Tsunami in South East Asia. Duties performed under the most harrowing of conditions.
2004No Award
2003No Award
2002Murray Clayton of Kaimai Valley Services for his innovative application of existing technology.
2001Graham McClymont, Self Employed of Masterton for his investigation and study of septic tank discharges and their cumulative effect on groundwater quality in a developing are of rural Masterton. While a local study it was applicable to a huge area of New Zealand where there are thousands of septic tanks and groundwater discharge problems.
2000Nigel Anderson from the Bay of Plenty for his untiring efforts in producing Whakatanes drinking water from very difficult raw water. Nigels strength, enthusiasm and contribution in training treatment plant operators are regarded as outstanding.
1999Clinton Lyall of Serco Viatech for his co-ordination of an excellent wastewater team emergency response, during the Pukekohe floods in January 1999.
1998No Award
1997Stu Craib of Serco in Christchurch, in recognition of the skills he brought to bear when commissioning the new wastewater treatment plant for Banks Peninsula District Council at Lyttelton, and for the many hours he has devoted over recent years as the Canterbury/West Coast Operators Regional Representative.
1996Todd Frank, Water Quality Technician, responsible for the operation of South Taranaki District Councils 14 water treatment plants and eight sewage treatment plants. Todd received the Award for the commissioning of the buoyant media clarifier at the Waimate West Water Treatment Plant.
1995Adrian Van Niekerken of Rangitikei District Council for addressing, successfully, summer water quality problems at the Marton Water Treatment Plant.
1994Bob Andrews of Kapiti Coast District Council in recognition of his achievements in designing, building and operating a water treatment system for Paekakariki.
1993Malcolm McGregor of Wairoa District Council for his design and construction of an innovative lime slurry mixing system.
1992The Otago-Southland Operators Group for solving the problem of communication in their area for over 10 years.
1991Richard Thomas of Hamilton City Council for Sludge digestion at the Hamilton City Council Water Pollution Control Plant a paper presented at the 1991 Conference.