The Board comprises six members, elected for three-year terms. The Board is elected by the members and may include up to two additional co-opted members selected by the Board. The Board meets at least six times per annum.

Board Members

Kelvin Hill

Kelvin is currently the Utilities Manager for Western Bay of Plenty District Council a position he has held for over nine years. He is responsible for the successful delivery of the three waters and solid waste services to its 46,500 strong community. Kelvin has 36 years of experience encompassing a wide range of professional roles, including; engineering consultancy, infrastructure project management and general management of contracting business both within New Zealand and overseas. Kelvin has served on the Water New Zealand Technical committee for the last nine years and has been an active member of the Water Services Managers Group since 2006, currently serving on the committee.

Kelvin has recently completed an MBA at Waikato University and is keen to contribute as part of the Water New Zealand Governance Team in advocating and promoting the benefits of the organisation. This is his second term on the Board.

Helen Atkins

Helen Aitkins Photo

Helen Atkins is one of the founding partners of the boutique environment and public law firm, Atkins Holm Majurey. Helen has worked for a number of years for a variety of private and public sector clients on a range of environmental, local government and public law matters. Helen has served on the both the New Zealand Planning Institute local branch Committee (Wellington) and on the Resource Management Law Assn National Committee (including as president from 2009 to 2011). Helen recently finished an 11 year term as a member of the Hazardous Substances and New Organisms Committee of the Environmental Protection Authority (ERMA) having previously served as a Board member of the Environmental Risk Management Authority (ERMA) before it became the EPA. Helen is in her first term on the Board after being a co-opted member for the past two years.

John Mackie

John Mackie is the Head of 3 Waters and Waste at Christchurch City Council.

He first became involved with Water New Zealand in the early 1980s, where he began his work in the water sector while employed at the Te Awamutu Borough Council as assistant and then Borough Engineer. He has spent a number of years working as a consultant and contractor in areas which include sewer flow monitoring and water and wastewater maintenance in both Auckland and Wellington.

John has also worked in Dunedin where he was employed as council Water and Wastes Manager. In 2013 he joined the Christchurch City Council to assist with the rebuild of the city. He spent more than three years serving on the SCIRT Board, which has just completed the rebuild of $2.2 billion of horizontal infrastructure. Currently he is working on the development of a new capital delivery team to replace SCIRT, which completed its scope of work in June 2017.

This is his first term on the Board.

Lorraine Kendrick

Lorraine holds the position of Manager Project Delivery (Major Capital Works) at Waipa District Council (Waipa), and previously held the position of Manager Water Services at Waipa.

Lorraine is a Chartered and International Professional Engineer and graduated with a BEng (Hons) in Civil Engineering from University of Ulster, Northern Ireland in 1999.

Her career prior to joining Waipa was working as a design and project manager in various engineering consultancies in UK, Ireland and New Zealand, undertaking work in both civil and structural engineering fields.

Currently Lorraine is responsible for leading a team of project managers and engineers to deliver the major capital works programme for Waipa that encompasses the activities of Roading, Water Services and Community Facilities.

Lorraine is passionate about the 3 Waters and is the current Chair of the Water Services Managers’ Group, a position she has held for four years. Prior to her appointment of Chair, she was an active committee member.

Lorraine is looking forward to the future changes in the industry and considers it vital that Water New Zealand ensures that the sector views are both heard and represented, and that there is an understanding and appreciation of what is happening at the coalface in the 3 Waters assets space, particularly in the rural and provincial areas.

Lorraine is keen to contribute to the Water New Zealand governance team; her focus is on ensuring the water sector in New Zealand continues to drive improvement.

This is Lorraine's first term on the Board. 

Iain Rabbitts

Iain is a Water Treatment Engineer with over 25 years’ experience in New Zealand and overseas. He has been involved in water treatment plant design and implementation from Invercargill to Kaitaia and on five continents. 

Iain was a member of the expert panel providing assistance to the Public Inquiry into the Havelock North Contamination Event. He has spoken out publicly about the reforms he believes necessary to ensure that all New Zealanders have access to safe drinking water. He has helped shape the national thinking on water reform and regulation and will continue to do so. Iain met in March with Hon Nanaia Mahuta, the Minister for local government, to help develop and assist the government’s thinking in this area. 

Iain thinks Water New Zealand is in a really important place in influencing what the outcomes of any reform might be. This was recognised by the Public Inquiry during the Stage 2 hearings. We need to improve our industry and we need to make sure we can influence the changes. Iain can help with both of those goals.

 Along with water reform comes wastewater reform and potentially stormwater reform. These are equally important and again Water New Zealand needs to lead the process.

This is Iain's first term on the Board.

Garth Dibley, co-opted

Garth has extensive experience in the generation, retail, transmission, and distribution sectors of New Zealand’s electricity industry. He took up the position of Chief Executive at WEL Networks in September 2014.

Garth has previously held leadership roles at both Transpower and Meridian Energy. Appointed as General Manager Grid Performance at Transpower in 2010, he led operations and asset maintenance functions of the national grid.

Prior to this, Garth was based at Meridian Energy, working as General Manager Markets and Production and then General Manager External Relations.

Garth has a Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical) from the University of Canterbury and an MBA from Waikato University. He has completed executive training programmes at Kellogg and INSEAD business schools of management.

Garth was awarded CEO of the Year 2016 at the Westpac Waikato Business Awards.