IXOM Operations Prize

This prize is presented to a Water New Zealand member in recognition of their efforts made in solving an operating difficulty or problem at a water or wastewater treatment plant.


The winner is chosen by the Operations SIG.

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday, 21 August. Submit your nomination to amy.samuelu@waternz.org.nz


The winner of the Operations Prize will receive a significant prize, including a suitable trophy, cash or in-kind goods or services.


Water New Zealand thanks IXOM for its generous sponsorship of this award.

2020 Recipient

Kawerau District Council Water Team   

For the resourceful solutions-orientated focus to improve their processes and operational outcomes during the covid-19 pandemic.

Past Recipients of this Award:



2019Marcus Coley, Downer & Leevaai Toremana, Horowhenua District Council
2018 Sharon Danks and the Triangle Road Pumpstation Commissioning Team, Watercare Services
2016 Matthew Keil, Southland District Council
2015 Alistair Forsyth, Wellington Water
2014 Marcus Coley, Downer
2013 Russell Dean, Manawatu District Council
2012 Mathew Jamieson, Veolia Water, Thames Coromandal
2011 Ian Loffhagen, Waimakariri District Council
2010 John Clemens, Water Plant Manager at Timaru District Council
2009 Gore District Council Team: John Braithwaite and Neville Phillips
2008 The Downer Works Team: Terry Lamb, Louis Du Preez, Josy Bird, Scott Collinge, Sinclair Carter and Gordon McRobbie
2007 The Gisborne Water Treatment Team: Pete McKay, Ged Brown, Ralph Ogden, Josh Takao and Lynnette Brown
2006 No Award
2005 Les Collins and Dave Neru for their assistance in restoring services to communities devastated by the 2004 Boxing Day Tsunami in South East Asia. Duties performed under the most harrowing of conditions.
2004 No Award
2003 No Award
2002 Murray Clayton of Kaimai Valley Services for his innovative application of existing technology.
2001 Graham McClymont, Self Employed of Masterton for his investigation and study of septic tank discharges and their cumulative effect on groundwater quality in a developing are of rural Masterton. While a local study it was applicable to a huge area of New Zealand where there are thousands of septic tanks and groundwater discharge problems.
2000 Nigel Anderson from the Bay of Plenty for his untiring efforts in producing Whakatanes drinking water from very difficult raw water. Nigels strength, enthusiasm and contribution in training treatment plant operators are regarded as outstanding.
1999 Clinton Lyall of Serco Viatech for his co-ordination of an excellent wastewater team emergency response, during the Pukekohe floods in January 1999.
1998 No Award
1997 Stu Craib of Serco in Christchurch, in recognition of the skills he brought to bear when commissioning the new wastewater treatment plant for Banks Peninsula District Council at Lyttelton, and for the many hours he has devoted over recent years as the Canterbury/West Coast Operators Regional Representative.
1996 Todd Frank, Water Quality Technician, responsible for the operation of South Taranaki District Councils 14 water treatment plants and eight sewage treatment plants. Todd received the Award for the commissioning of the buoyant media clarifier at the Waimate West Water Treatment Plant.
1995 Adrian Van Niekerken of Rangitikei District Council for addressing, successfully, summer water quality problems at the Marton Water Treatment Plant.
1994 Bob Andrews of Kapiti Coast District Council in recognition of his achievements in designing, building and operating a water treatment system for Paekakariki.
1993 Malcolm McGregor of Wairoa District Council for his design and construction of an innovative lime slurry mixing system.
1992 The Otago-Southland Operators Group for solving the problem of communication in their area for over 10 years.
1991 Richard Thomas of Hamilton City Council for Sludge digestion at the Hamilton City Council Water Pollution Control Plant a paper presented at the 1991 Conference.