Code of Practice for the Implementation of the New Zealand Asset Metadata Standards for 3 Waters

The Quake Centre’s Building innovation Partnership (BIP) has published the first part of a National Standard for 3 Waters Asset Data. The Code of Practice (CoP) has been developed by BIP and a broad range of industry partners to set out a minimum viable standard for as-built data for 3 Waters pipe networks. The standard covers potable, waste and storm water:

  • Pipes
  • Valves
  • Chambers
  • Fittings
  • Meters
  • Headwalls
  • Retention Structures
  • Channels

The activities that the standard supports include:

  • Automated capture of design and as-constructed data
  • Standardised methodologies of sharing design and existing asset data
  • Data quality assessment and benchmarking
  • Large scale analysis of economic life of pipes

Work is underway with a number of local authorities to test the standard as part of data quality benchmarking and as the basis of a national surveying and data ingestion process. It has also been designed to align with the new data standards being developed by NZTA. Effort has been made to ensure that both the 3 Waters and NZTA standards are based on the same principles to ensure data interoperability.

The standard is designed to be extensible and, as resources allow, its coverage will be increased to cover Valuations; Operations & Maintenance; Failure Analysis, etc.

The CoP can be found here:

For more information contact:

Greg Preston