Kia ora,

We're wrapping up one of our most successful conferences.  The Water New Zealand Conference and Expo 2023 in Te Whanganui-a-Tara Wellington drew a record 1200 attendees.  We had more than 100 keynote and technical presentations and 180 exhibition stands.  Thank you to everyone for joining us this year.

Of course, one of the highlights of our conferences has always been the opportunity to celebrate the incredible achievements of the many talented people who work in the water industry. These people truly make an impact and positive contribution to our sector while building their careers.

Click here to watch the Downer Dinner highlights 

We're proud to congratulate our 2023 Water New Zealand Excellence Awards winners and to acknowledge the outstanding skills and professionalism they have shown this year.

Thank you to everyone who entered. Once again, we received a huge number of entries, the calibre of which was extremely high and demonstrates the exceptional level of achievement by so many of our members. Thank you also to Downer for sponsoring the awards dinner.

Here are our 2023 winners!

2023 Ronald Hicks Memorial Award sponsored by Mott MacDonald

The winners of this award were Ollie Whalley from Tonkin & Taylor, supported by co-authors Warren Biggs from Nelson City Council and Clint Rissmann from Land and Water Science: Measurement Towards Mitigation – Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Nelson Waste Water Treatment Plant.

Young Water Professional of the Year sponsored by Beca

The winner of the Young Water Professional of the Year Award sponsored by Beca is Sifa Pole of Watercare Services.

Operations Prize sponsored by IXOM

This prize goes to Thomas Tran of Watercare Services for his initiative : Launder & Re-use Water Hypo Dosing System.

Project Award sponsored by Pipeline and Civil

This year's winning project is the Te Maunga Outfall Clearance & Inspection by Bay Dynamics in conjunction with Tauranga City Council.

Health and Safety Innovation Award sponsored by Site Safe New Zealand

Congratulations again to Bay Dynamics for the Te Maunga Outfall Clearance & Inspection.

Environmental Sustainability Project Award sponsored by Morphum Environmental

This award recognises outstanding sustainability initiatives in the water industry through the delivery of a project that prioritises the needs of the wider environment.

This year’s winner is the Te Ara Awataha submitted on behalf of Eke Panuku Development Auckland, with the support of Kainga Ora, Auckland City Council, Nga Mana Whenua o Tāmaki Makaurau. 

Water Trainee of the Year sponsored by Citycare Water

This year's award goes to Ashleigh Crewe-Brown of Watercare Services

Hynds Presentation of the Year

Water Watchers - Watching Tauranga's Water for Good 

Presenters: Ryan Orr from GHD and Peter Bahrs from Tauranga City Council

Hynds Paper of the Year

Winner: Beyond Consents: Watercare's journey to honouring Te Tiriti o Waitangi

Authors:   Te Tuanui Paki and Kuiarangi Paki - Watercare (pictured below)

Silver Winner - Research undertaken to improve sustainability and reduce costs of BNR Plants

Authors: Liam Tamplin, Craig White, Jayden Ball - Beca Hunter H2O

Gordon Cunningham - Queanbeyan Palerang Regional Council

TRILITY Young Author of the Year Award

The winner this year is Jane Kubala - Watercare Services

 Poster of the Year Sponsored by Tonkin + Taylor

The winner is Patrick O'Connor from ProjectMax for his poster Cost-Effective Approach to Reducing Inflow and Infiltration – Level Monitoring

Honorary Life Members

Helen Atkins

Michael Hannah

Wally Potts

2023 5S Society Emerging Water Professional Conference Prize

The winners this year are Blake Brown from Stantec, Lucy Trethewey from Pattle Delamore, Maddie Irving from Fulton Hogan, Sarah Innes from Watercare and Steven Whyte from Pattle Delamore.

2023 New 5S New Zealand Chapter Members

Gillian Blythe

Daniel Gapes

Ngā mihi,

The Team at Water New Zealand

Ranchhod Tower | Level 12, 39 The Terrace
PO Box 1316, Wellington 6140 |
Tel: +64 4 472 8925 | Fax: 64 4 472 8926